Don’t Get Nugged

Does a chicken have a “nugget”? I know it has breasts and thighs.. but a nugget?

Tell me you have seen the chicken nugget commercial by Jack in the Box?  The one with the two girls who scarf the nuggets while the boys are away… and claim they were “nugged.”  A knee-slapper, I know…

Image

Source

When we think of a chicken nugget, we think of something that resembles this:

Image

Source

I looked up the definition of a “chicken nugget” and came across this: “A chicken nugget is a chicken product made from either meat slurry or chicken breasts cut to shape, breaded or battered, then deep-fried or baked.” Source  Tasty, huh?

I think the meat slurry really throws me off… If I had some of those chicken nuggets, I would gladly be nugged.

 Anywaysssss…. I needed chicken nuggets to redeem themselves, so I made my own!

NUG THIS

I simply cut up chicken breasts and put them in a skillet that had been sprayed with nonstick spray.

Image

As they were heating up, I mixed the little guys around for even heating..

Image

For flavor, I sprinkled some garlic salt.

Image

In the end, they were tender, delicious, and NOT filled with meat slime.

Image

I enjoyed my nuggets with roasted veggies and toasted quinoa (recipe coming soon!!).

xoxo, Haley

Question: Do you have a favorite dipping sauce for your nuggets??

…I would have to say mine is either mustard or hot sauce.