WIAW: spring break

Wednesday already?? Time flies when you’re having fun…

AKA St. Patty’s weekend full of friends & goodies!

WIAWbutton

This WIAW is a Spring Break edition because I am home and off of work. Just because I am not at work, I still try my best to stick to a schedule. (I even wake up at 5:30 to go to CrossFit!!) Call me crazy, but if I sleep in everyday, I would feel like a lazy bum!

Don’t forget to pop over to Jenn’s place & see what else is being shared on this wonderful Wednesday 🙂

Alarm went off bright and early–filled up my water bottle and grabbed a paleo Healthy Bite that I made.. ate it in my car. YUM.

IMG_3646

At CrossFit, I always drink 2 Starbuck’s Trenta size water bottles. I drink one during the class/workout and refill for the ride home. Seems like a lot, but I need to get things moving (if ya know what I mean!)..

It was our front desk attendant’s birthday (Happy Birthday, Laura!!) and our fabulous trainer, Taysia, made Paleo Brownies (with sweet potato). I grabbed one for later & fully intend on making a version, soon.

IMG_3648

When I got back home (~8am), made some coffee and was starved! I made an extra large protein shake this morning. It hit the spot! (recipe to follow) 🙂

IMG_3650 IMG_3654

without spinach… & with (gotta get the greens in where you can)

I even dipped a ricecake in–my favorite way to eat the shake.

IMG_3655

Alongside the protein shake I had a Fuji apple and some unsweetened banana chips.

IMG_3652

My tummy started growling around 11:15, but I had some errands to run. I was excited because I knew it was time to try one of my Questbars. I had half of the Cinnamon Bun.

20130319-132824.jpg

Verdict? It was good… There was not a big cinnamon flavor like I was expecting. It was sweet (maybe like cinnamon bun icing??) with a hint of cinnamon. I am looking forward to the others in the upcoming days.

When I got back from getting a new watch battery (one of my Spring Break goals!!!!), I was hungry. Lunch was a nice balance of veggies, chicken, and a quarter of a sweet potato.

20130319-132946.jpg

Yes, I dipped my chicken and broccoli in yellow mustard. Don’t judge. It’s STRANGEbutGOOD.

20130319-132547.jpg

In case you were wondering, I do have a shirt that says this…

My family can attest to the fact that I have a slight obsession.

As the day went on, I snacked on a carrot and some apple chips that I made.. and if I must say so, tasted FABULOUS! I will share the recipe soon.

Dinner rolled around..about 6:45 and I had..

20130319-191616.jpg

3/4 chicken breast with a side of cabbage, broccoli, and mushrooms.. topped with red pepper flakes–mm mm good!

Night time snack was an oldie but a goodie!  Blueberry Protein Fluff–served atop a rice cake.  A delicious way to end the night..

20130319-201220.jpg

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
Nutty-cocoa-nana Protein Shake
-1 cup almond milk
-1T peanut flour (use MLS308 to save $$$)
-1 scoop chocolate protein powder
-1T cocoa powder
-1/2 banana
-1t vanilla extract
-6 ice cubes
-1/2t guar gum
-1 handful of spinach (opt)–recommended!!

*Blend ‘er up and stick in the freezer to chill.

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

xoxo, Haley
Question: What is your favorite Questbar flavor? I am excited to try more!

5 thoughts on “WIAW: spring break

    • My BF nought it for me for Christmas a few years ago.. BUT when I was searching for the graphic, I found it on zazzle.com. What is it with bloggers and condiments? haha

  1. Pingback: Strange but Good: Cumin & Cayenne Fluff | full 'n' fit

Leave a Reply

