WIAW: keepin it green (& basil help)

Time is of the essence this week.. So, this WHAT I ATE WEDNESDAY post is short, sweet, and GREEN.

Keeping with March’s WIAW theme of GREEN… I thought I would throw some GREEN eats your way.  You’re welcome, by the way…

Be sure to hop over to Jenn’s corner at www.peasandcrayons.com to see what else is being greenified this week!

Breakfast:: I made my Cake Batter Protein Shake and added SPINACH!

20130312-083045.jpg

Check out that GREEN color.. It was quite spectacular.. the green spoon definitely added some flair.

Adding spinach is strange.. but I swear ya can’t taste it.  It is an EASY way to add greens to a meal that would otherwise not have any.

Lunch rollllllllled in… and I had a GREEN PEAR and GREEN CABBAGE with chicken & hummus…

20130312-083104.jpg

How about a little CHOBANI for a snacky-poo?  I had the (GREEN-labeled) Apple & Cinnamon flavor.. I loved it!  I even added a little more cinnamon.. be honest, what food blogger doesn’t have a serious relationship with cinnamon?!? We can’t get enough of it..

20130312-083112.jpg

For snack.. Sadly, I didn’t have anything green!  I did have some Healthy Bites though 🙂

Dinner was some precooked chicken with a tomato sauce that I doctored up with sauteed mushrooms, red pepper flakes, SPINACH, and BASIL!

Hey, basil is GREEN! .. and adds GREAT flavor.

How-To Chop Basil Leaves:::

IMG_3361

1. Stack ’em up.

IMG_3362

2. Roll ’em together like a sleeping bag..

IMG_3363

3.Slice them down the roll.

IMG_3364

4. You have nice little ribbons.. OR you can run the knife through once more (the other direction) to get smaller pieces.

IMG_3365

**Basil is a great addition to many dishes.  I especially like it with tomato-y things!

For good measure… gotta have a pic of Stanley on the GREEN grass.

20130303-135939.jpg

I am such a proud mama 🙂

xoxo, Haley

Question: How have you added more GREEN in your life?

Any plans for St. Patty’s Day?  I’ll be dressed in GREEN… hopefully drinking some GREEN beer 😉