Strange but Good: I have serious B.O.

I know what you’re thinking.. You absolutely do not want to hear about my going-through-puberty B.O.

However, this is not THAT B.O. This is some TASTY B.O… B.O. as in BLOOD ORANGES!

20130305-180611.jpg

One of the great things about living in San Diego, besides the great weather, is the fact that there are beaches to the west and mountains to the east.

One day, while heading east to the Viejas Outlet Mall, there was a small farm stand on the side of the road selling avocados and blood oranges!

We pulled over and purchased avocados (duh!) and decided to try the oranges. (I was a blood orange virgin).

Needless to say, I fell in love. These little buggers are sweet an incredibly juicy. Another plus is seeds are rare!

20130303-194021.jpg

The fruit is smaller than a “regular” orange and its insides are a dark color.

While doing some research on the BOs, I found this:

“The pulp of these oranges is also high in fiber, which keeps the digestive tract in tip-top shape and helps prevent constipation. Blood oranges are a good source of the B vitamin folate, which is essential to the healthy development of a fetus and to slowed aging of the brain.” Source They are tasty and full of fiber, folate.. not to mention antioxidants and vitamin C! πŸ™‚

With a huge bag of BOs upon me, I set out to eat and drink their blood juice.

sprint2table-strangebutgood-GREEN-2

Before I give ya TWO.. yes TWO recipes, head over to Sprint2theTable and show Laura some STRANGEbutGOOD love!

What would my day be without a protein shake? It’s not a shake with sriracha or chocolate and bacon, but it does have two whole blood oranges!

20130303-194014.jpg

Ingredients:
-1 cup almond milk
-1 scoop Vanilla protein
-1/2 cup cottage cheese
-2 blood oranges, peels removed (duh)
-1 teaspoon vanilla extract
-6 ice cubes
-1/2T guar gum (optional thickener)
-sweetener to taste

How:
Blend until smooth πŸ™‚

20130303-194031.jpg

She’s a beauty, ain’t she?? I added a sliver of another orange for decoration and dribbled extra juice on top. Why not?

Next up: Blood Orange in my WATER!

20130303-194043.jpg

I have recently given up artificial sweeteners.. Yes, I know. I was hooked on them for YEARS. I mean addicted, like crazy. Adding blood oranges to my water was a good way to keep up the hydration and flavor it without adding Crystal Light. How healthy of me, right?

SNACK TIME! What else besides BLOOD ORANGE CHOBANI with a blood orange added?! Double BO, baby. #tastereal πŸ™‚

20130307-162315.jpg

Dinner time rolled around… and I decided to make:::

Blood Orange & Basil Tilapia

20130307-155915.jpg

Ingredients:
-4 tilapia filets (enough for 2 people)
-Juice of one blood orange, save its zest
-6 basil leaves, minced (reserve some for topping at end)
-1/4 t garlic powder
-salt & pepper

20130307-155856.jpg

How-To:
1. Preheat oven to 375.
2. Rinse tilapia and dry before placing on a non-stick baking sheet.
3. Salt and pepper fish, set aside.
4. In a small bowl, combine zest and juice of the blood orange with basil and garlic.

20130307-155905.jpg
5. Brush tilapia with juice/basil combo. Make sure each piece is covered.

20130307-161318.jpg
6. Bake 20-25 minutes, uncovered, or until fish flakes.
7. Remove from oven, plate, sprinkle on remaining fresh basil.
8. Serve with a side of veggies. (I made sauteed cabbage and mushrooms).

ENJOY!

Overall, I am a BO Lover. I look forward to putting them into salads & maybe even some fluff?!

xoxo, Haley

Question: Have you ever tried a blood orange? What’d you think?

4 thoughts on “Strange but Good: I have serious B.O.

  1. I love the color of blood oranges! They are so stunning! They are definitely a treat, but sooo expensive around here that I usually opt for their less colorful orange-brethren 😦 Your tilapia recipe sounds spectacular!

    • Aren’t blood oranges beautiful? The color is so bright & cheery! The tilapia was delicious and could easily be made with the “less colorful orange-brethren” πŸ˜‰

  2. Blood oranges are the best!!! I’ve done it in the frozen Greek creation, and in a salmon salad… but with baked tilapia?! Great idea!! And of course, I love the smoothie. You could totally add bacon to that. πŸ˜‰

    Thanks for linking up!!!

Leave a Reply

