WIAW: start of national nutrition month

HAPPY NATIONAL NUTRITION MONTH!

Yes, believe it or not, it is already March! Almost a quarter of the way through 2013.. yikes. Time flies fast when you’re having fun, I guess.

It’s Wednesday and that means it is WHAT I ATE WEDNESDAY here at full’n’fit (FnF).

As always, thanks to Jenn for linking up all these fabulous eats 🙂

For the month of March, WIAW will be “going green.” All link-ups will be showcasing how to add more fruits and veggies into your diet. After all, St. Patty’s Day is full of GREEN and it’s National Nutrition Month.

My first snack was at 5:30am. Yes, I am crazy enough to attend CrossFit Eat Village‘s 6am class. I WOULD NOT HAVE IT ANY OTHER WAY! Those kids rock. I ate my last (tear) Paleo Muddy Buddy Mocha Healthy Bite. It was delicious and gave me the energy I needed to do 21-15-9 Overhead Squats and Box Jumps for the WOD.

20130305-121051.jpg

After a steamy shower, it was time for breakfast and my daily dose of the newspaper. I had my coffee with Vanilla almond milk..

20130305-121046.jpg

My coffee was accompanied by a lovely Mint Chocolate Protein Shake.. You may be wondering, “Where is the green, Haley?” WELL…. there is SPINACH in the shake. A huge handful of it… (I am working on the correct measurements for the shake & the recipe will be out soon!) Adding in spinach to the shakes and smoothies is an EASY way to get in more veggies.

20130305-121018.jpg

…and a side of a Fuji apple. Yes, I cut my apple the SAME way everyday. I’m strange #strangebutgood like that. (FRUIT!!)

20130305-180557.jpg

If you follow me on Instagram (hlymre) or facebook (Haley Hawthorne), then you saw this comic. I found it hilarious! It is me and The BF to a tee! The girl is blabbing away.. and then asks the guy how his day was… his only response, “Like yours, but with less detail.” Too funny…

20130305-121110.jpg

Lunch rolled around at 11:45… and I had so kindly packed myself a cabbage salad (VEGGIE!!) with turkey sandwich meat, red pepper flakes, and dijon mustard. Again, I am #strangebutgood.

20130305-121027.jpg

…with a side of bloobs (FRUIT!!) that started out frozen in the a.m. and thawed out nicely by lunchtime.

20130305-121033.jpg

While preparing dinner, I snacked on a carrot

20130305-180603.jpg

and a blood orange.

20130305-180611.jpg

(VEGGIE & FRUIT!!!) Not exciting.

Dinner was the star of the day.. and you will see this again on Friday for #strangebutgood… Here is a sneak peak 😉

20130305-192436.jpg

I ended the day with a snack/dessert of Chobani and chia seeds.. Just a Chobani with a tablespoon of Chia–put it in the freezer for 10 minutes and enjoy! No picture taken.. I just simply enjoyed it.

xoxo, Haley

Question: How are YOU adding more fruits and veggies into your day??

How could you add more??

 

15 thoughts on “WIAW: start of national nutrition month

  1. I’m really good at eating tons of fruits and veggies for two or three days after a grocery shop but once I start running low I’m too lazy to hit the store again before sunday and the healthy eating kind of goes away…

  2. Now if you had thrown the blueberries IN that salad then MAYBE it would have been a #strangebutgood contender, but to drown a bowl in that much dijon mustard? Well that is COMPLETELY normal isn’t it?! 😉

    That comic IS funny…only with me and the man-friend, it’s the other way around…I don’t know why, but I always elaborate a lot less on my daily activities…whereas he will give me every minute detail…I know the names of just about every one he comes in contact with throughout the week even though I have NO IDEA who they are! Lol

    PS, you just reminded me that I need to make some healthy bites! I bought Lindsey’s e-book forever ago and have yet to make a single batch! o.O

    • I totally forgot about your combo of blueberries and dijon.. I see that coming this week for lunch! Most likely on Friday.. an extra #strangebutgood.
      Too funny that you and the man-friend are opposite.. My guy doesn’t talk! It’s like pulling teeth.. but I love him anyway 😉
      You bought Lindsay’s book? I just may do that.. the things are addicting!

  3. I love your #strangebutgood! Green smoothies are my jam. I started having to take pics before adding the spinach so they don’t all look the same.

    Can’t wait for Friday!!! I love blood oranges!

  4. I never, ever make smoothies but think I’m gonna try when the weather gets warmer – great way to add a dose of greens with your breakfast! And that comic is hilarious, I need to share it with Ryan 😀

    • I am hooked on smoothies at this point! It is an easy way for me to add in the extra protein my muscles are needing lately. Try adding the spinach! You can’t taste it, if you use only a handful. I made the mistake once of putting in 2 handfuls… blech!!! There wasn’t an amount of cinnamon that could mask the taste.

Leave a Reply

