Work it (2/24-3/2)

Sunday: Weather was too gorgeous to not be outside! I enjoyed a hike to the top of Cowles Mountain with my friend, Sheila. According to the site, it is only a mile and a half. However, it was beautiful.

20130224-122320.jpg

Monday: I woke up with a stomachache and decided to go to CrossFit after work and not partake in the WOD. I did my own workout of:

30 pull-ups (with blue band) then…

5 rounds of:
30 sec KB hold*
30 sit-ups
30 sec jump roping

*The kettlebell hold was done laying on my tummy on a bench. I held a KB in each hand, chest-level. It worked my upper back and triceps.

Tuesday:
Warm-up was working on snatches.. then the WOD or Metcon (Metabolic Conditioning) was:
FOR TIME

12-9-6-3
power snatch
burpees

20130226-180008.jpg

I ended up completing it in 5:35 using 45 lbs. I have come to find that snatches are just difficult! I need to practice them to work on my form. I feel there is so much to think about at one time and I do not do them enough to have everything just flow.  Rxed was 65 for girls, I know one day I’ll get there.

Wednesday: realized one of my daughters will NEVER be named Jackie…
JACKIE
1000m Row
50 Thrusters (35 for girls)
30 Pull-ups

This was difficult! I completed it in 12:13 with blue band for assisted pull-ups.

Thursday: The WOD was…

20130301-133843.jpg

I ended up with 8 rounds + 4 extra box jumps.  I felt like superwoman after this.  We had to do 55 lb. kettle bell swings.  I had never even touched a 55 before this!

Friday: Took a rest day…

Saturday:

My girl, Sheila, and I met up at CrossFit to work on dead lifts & do a WOD.  I was disappointed in my DLs because I kept rounding my back.  I need to work on my form before trying for another PR.

Congrats to Sheila on her dead lift PR!!  Way to go, girl!

The WOD we did was BARBARA (another name my daughter will NOT have)..20130302-141931.jpg

It was 5 rounds with a 3 minute rest between each round.  Three minutes seems like a lot, but I REALLY needed those 3 minutes.  Your score is the total of all 5 rounds (minus the rest times).  I completed Barbara win 30:30 with a blue band for pull-ups.  Barbara is no joke.

I hope you all had a great week!

xoxo, Haley

Question:  How do you know when to stop and listen to your body because you need more practice?  (I find this hard because I want to keep going higher and higher.. when in reality, I need to gain strength).

2 thoughts on “Work it (2/24-3/2)

Leave a Reply

