WIAW: bunco brunch

Way back when, I told you all that I play bunco and I was the to be the hostess for February! So….. I decided to do my What I Ate Wednesday with what I made for the special night!

Usually the hostess makes dinner & dessert, provides snacks, and a great place to have fun. I wanted to spruce it up this month and I planned bunco around BRUNCH. Who doesn’t like brunch food? Especially when it is being had at 6pm. Does that make it a BUNCO BRINNER? Maybe, but I still went with brunch.

Sidenote::: pajamas were required πŸ™‚

Remember to click over to Jenn’s area on the Internet to see what else is being cooked up!

WIAWbuttonI spent lots of time planning the menu.. but drinks were easy. MIMOSAS. duh! Who doesn’t like the combo of champagne and orange juice? It is sweet, tart, and bubbly. Too much fun.

**Somehow I didn’t get a pic of the mimosas… I blame it on the champagne πŸ˜‰

Dinner was a family speciality of mine. It has been passed down on my mom’s side of the family forever. We call it “Christmas Breakfast.” (recipe at the bottom!!!) I am sure it is really called Ham & Cheese Casserole or something rather… Christmas Breakfast is just easy.

DSCN4108

Along with Christmas breakfast, I served bacon and sausage. (Pork lovin, are we?)

DSCN4107

For a nice little carbohydrate to go with our protein, I made Whole Wheat Blueberry Muffins with CHOBANI! (Recipe coming soon!!)

20130225-081925.jpg

A nice little fruit salad accompanied dinner with cantaloupe honeydew melon, grapes, strawberries, blueberries, and blackberries. It was juicy and refreshing. Much needed with the other heavy dinner components.

DSCN4100

While we played, snacks were placed on the three tables in cute little San Diego Padre hats. (baseball season is almost here & I LOVE the baseball game environment!) These snackys included pretzels, dark chocolate covered almonds & raisins, sour gummy bears, trail mix, and robin eggs.. ya know, the malt ball ones. YUM-O!

DSCN4098

Dessert was rather tasty… It came in the form of a Key Lime Pie with a homemade graham cracker crust… I use Oprah’s Mar-a-Lago Key Lime Pie recipe (it’s my momma’s fave)

20130225-081954.jpg20130225-082005.jpg

Along with the pie we had chocolate-covered strawberries!! (always a hit & super easy to make at home)

DSCN4112

There ya have it! It was an exciting night had by all.. I even won $20!

…Stanley wasn’t so lucky though. There were no scraps dropped.

DSCN4105

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Christmas Breakfast

-8 slices bread, trim crusts

-6 eggs

-2 1/2 c milk (almond or your choice)

-1/4 t dry mustard

-1 t salt

-1/4 t pepper

-2 1/3 c cheddar cheese, diced

-1 package Canadian ham (I used regular ham)

How-to:
1. Combine eggs and seasoning; scramble well
2. Grease 9×13 baking dish.
3. Layer casserole: Canadian ham, bread, egg mixture, cubed cheese.
4. Cover dish with aluminum foil and refrigerate overnight.
5. Preheat oven to 325Β°.
6. Cook 45 minutes or until cheese is browning.

 
Enjoy!!…. It’s not the healthiest dish, but it is tasty!

xoxo, Haley
Question: What’s your fave brunch food?

7 thoughts on “WIAW: bunco brunch

  1. Pingback: Whole Wheat Blueberry Muffins…with Chobani! | full 'n' fit

Leave a Reply

