Strange but Good: Thai Peanut Protein Shake

On Wednesday I shared my eats that included a Pad Thai… Well, that dinner (recipe next week) inspired my STRANGE but GOOD for today!

When I told The BF what I was doing, he literally looked at me like I was crazy.  Maybe it was the two glasses of this lovely Pinot Noir…

20130221-154041.jpg

Courtesy of Bub’s in Downtown San Diego 🙂

Maybe it is the fact that smoothies & shakes are fabulous..but need an extra KICK 😉

5868889_700b

People tend to put sriracha on everything.  It’s good on eggs, meat, in certain pastas & soups… but with yogurt, milk, peanut flour and vanilla??

That’s right.  I added sriracha to my morning protein shake.

things-sriracha-good-on 

A lot of thai recipes use the peanut taste and incorporate spices.  So, I thought, “What could go wrong??  Peanut. Good. Spice. Good.”  Low and behold… I was right!!

sprint2table-strangebutgood-GREEN-2

A HUGE thanks to my girl, Laura, for hosting this super awesome link-up every week!

I know you think I am crazy.  I don’t care.  This shake is a strangey but a goody.  It has a peanut forward taste with a spicy-zing finish.

20130221-154016.jpg

Thai Peanut Protein Shake

-1 cup almond milk

-1/2 cup Chobani Vanilla Greek Yogurt

-1T peanut flour

-1T Sriracha

-1 scoop vanilla protein powder

-sweetener, to taste

-7-10 ice cubs

-1/4t guar gum (to thicken)

-spinach (optional)

How-To:

1. Blend & freeze!

2. Enjoy!  (I had mine with a crumbled rice cake)

Exhibit A:

20130221-153954.jpg

Exhibit B:

20130221-154007.jpg

Exhibit C:

20130221-154022.jpg….I threw the shake back in the blender to add spinach!  I’m crazy, but I learned this trick from Laura–and she’s crazier. 😉

xoxo, Haley

Question: Too strange?  Who wants to toast a nice glass of wine?  😉

9 thoughts on “Strange but Good: Thai Peanut Protein Shake

  1. Yuo are totally strange… in the most good way possible. I LOVE this idea! i’ve made spicy peanut sauce like this before, but whyyyyy didn’t I think to add protein and make it a shake?! This is 100% going to be my post-wokrout snack today. Sheer genius, my friend. Thanks for linking up!!!

  2. Pingback: Strange but Good: Chocolatey Elvis Protein Shake | full 'n' fit

  3. Pingback: Strange but Good: I have serious B.O. | full 'n' fit

Leave a Reply

