Strange but Good: Chocado Oatmeal

Chocolate + Avocado = CHOCADO!!

You read that right.  I did it.  I put the two together.

Since my new found love for avocados and all of their creamy glory…

I had to try to incorporate them into my morning love of oatmeal.

hearty-healthy-baked-oatmeal-with-blueberries-walnuts-and-bananas

STRANGE but GOOD.

 I KNOW.

Head over to Laura’s blog to see what else has been cookin’… #strangebutgood

I smashed the avocado in a separate bowl…

photo 2

I then added it to my already boiling water and oats…

photo 4

I mixed in unsweetened cocoa powder, egg whites, and vanilla extract.

photo 1

I mixed in half of a banana to get it melty and sweet.

photo 2

Soon enough… the oats had soaked up the water and my chocolate avocado breakfast heaven was ready!

 photo 3

CHOCADO OATMEAL

serves 1

  • 1/2 cup old fashioned oats
  • 1 – 1 1/2 cups water
  • 1/3 – 1/2 avocado
  • 2 T unsweetened cocoa powder
  • 1/2 cup egg whites (or 3 egg whites)
  • 1 t vanilla
  • 1/2 banana or sweetener (optional)
  1. Boil water and mix in oats.
  2. While oats are beginning to cook, smash avocado in a small bowl.
  3. Once oats have started to soak up the water, mix in avocado.
  4. Add in unsweetened cocoa powder, egg whites, and vanilla extract.
  5. Once incorporated, sweeten ’em up.
  6. Cook until oats are thick!
  7. Enjoy =)

Question: Any crazy avocado dishes you know of and love?  Do share!

Happy Friday!

xoxo, Haley

6 thoughts on “Strange but Good: Chocado Oatmeal

Leave a Reply

