Plain Ole’ Turkey

Back in November (once the turkeys were all dirt cheap), The BF and I bought one to freeze for another day.  Well, that other day came this past week.

He wanted turkey, so turkey is what he got… 13.4 pounds of it to be exact.

ImageLast Sunday I took the turkey out to let it begin to thaw.  It sat in our refrigerator until Thursday morning (four days).  I was all ready to roast the bird when I realized I didn’t have a roasting pan.  (How undomestic of me..)

To remedy my situation, I asked myself what the point of the pan would be… Basically it raises the bird up to allow for even cooking on all sides.

Aluminum foil to the rescue!

Image

Source

I pulled out a cookie sheet and made two large circles with sheets of foil.  I simply pulled a sheet out and lightly crumpled it into a log.  I then connected the two ends and placed it on the sheet.  (I did this twice).

Image

Notice the foil beneath the turkey…

Wa-la!  No fancy-pants roasting pan needed!

Cook a Plain Ol’ Turkey

  1. Remove turkey 3-4 days prior to allow to thaw.  Always thaw in the refrigerator!
  2. Preheat oven to 425.
  3. Unwrap turkey and remove the (yucky stuff) neck and giblets from inside.
  4. Rinse the turkey and dump any excess juice.
  5. Pat dry with a paper towel.
  6. Place turkey on super awesome roasting pan.
  7. Sprinkle salt and pepper or any other seasonings on the bird.  Feel free to put veggies on the inside as well.
  8. Pour 2 cups of water or broth in pan.
  9. Put turkey in the oven and lower the temperature to 325.
  10. Cook for approximately 4 hours (depending on size) or until the thigh reaches 180 at its deepest point.
  11. Remove turkey and let it sit for 15 minute before carving.
  12. ENJOY!

*The reason I set the oven temperature so high at first is to crisp the skin.  When the turkey goes in the oven, the skin will seal in the juice and keep the turkey moist.

Image

My plate: breast and cabbage

Question: Do you rub your turkey with anything before it cooks??

xoxo, Haley

Leave a Reply

