Chocolate Covered Strawberry Protein Shake

Since trying to build muscle, upping my protein is required.  After tiring my muscles out at 6am CrossFit, I need to refuel with a protein shake.

The milk and powder thing works, but I like to jazz them up… So…

I’m back with another YUMMY protein shake!

It may not be ice cream flavored like the last one, BUT it is definitely one of my favorite desserts turned healthy 🙂

DSCN4112

CHOCOLATE COVERED STRAWBERRIES!

The chocolate brings out the subtle strawberry flavor–and amazingness happens.

20130329-160001.jpg

Ingredients:
-1 cup almond milk
-1 handful spinach (optional)
-1 scoop chocolate protein powder
-1T unsweetened cocoa powder
-1 handful frozen strawberries
-1t vanilla extract
-1/2t xanthan gum

20130329-160007.jpg

Directions:
1. Put milk, spinach, and chocolate powders in blender. Blend until spinach is liquified.
2. Add in strawberries and vanilla. Blend until mixed.
3. Add in xanthan gum to thicken things up. Blend, blend, blend.
*The longer you blend, the fluffier it gets!

20130329-160012.jpg

Enjoy!

xoxo, Haley

Question: What’s your favorite dessert?  I just may make it into a shake 😉

8 thoughts on “Chocolate Covered Strawberry Protein Shake

Leave a comment